Reviews

39/220 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Melbourne. Book now or enquire about this property.

Overall rating 73% Fri 19 Jul 2019

I am not normally one to comment - however, as mentioned above, given the cost of the apartment, guests have certain expectations. Broken blinds, worn out chairs etc are not acceptable for "Penthouse" advertised apartments. A part reimbursement should be considered.

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    5
  • Service
    6
  • Bed comfort
    9

Overall rating 60% Sun 12 May 2019

Great location and spacious- great for a family stay.

  • Cleanliness
    6
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    6
  • Bed comfort
    5

Overall rating 90% Tue 7 May 2019

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 70% Tue 9 Apr 2019

Awaiting for cot sheets and garage remote

  • Cleanliness
    6
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 95% Tue 26 Mar 2019

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 85% Mon 25 Mar 2019

We had a great stay, thank you.

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 80% Fri 8 Mar 2019

Dissatisfied with this apartment given it is advertising as luxury accommodation when it’s not. Fantastic location though.

  • Cleanliness
    7
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 95% Thu 20 Dec 2018

Overall we absolutely loved it. Location was great, size of the apartment was perfect, beds were comfy - it just needs a wee bit of tlc Instructions on how to get in etc were brilliant and very clear

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 100% Thu 20 Sep 2018

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 88% Fri 24 Aug 2018

Great place great location. Will come again (when I can get the wifi to go)

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 95% Tue 21 Aug 2018

Loved it and would definitely return

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 88% Mon 20 Aug 2018

Thank you

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    9

Overall rating 93% Sun 29 Apr 2018

Thank you. Loving our stay

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 78% Sun 28 Jan 2018

Only other issue is we were not aware of any problems with air con and to then be advertised that on our HOLIDAY we had to worry about tradesman etc seemed to be a bit intrusive. Then we found out apartment was empty from checkout to the following Wednesday. Could the tradesman not have been arranged then? However apart from these minor issues we enjoyed our stay. Apartment was very comfortable and location was terrific.

  • Cleanliness
    7
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    9

Overall rating 50% Sat 20 Jan 2018

For the price we paid, we were very disappointed.

  • Cleanliness
    4
  • Value
    4
  • Service
    4
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 75% Sat 23 Dec 2017

There are a number of keys on each set. I’m not really sure what a few of them are for as we didn’t need them. What is missing though i think is a key for the deadbolt which we were unable to use the entire stay as there wasn’t a key for it on the sets we have.

  • Cleanliness
    7
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 83% Tue 15 Aug 2017

We turned to Espresso Apartments for accomodation when called to Victoria at short notice for a family tragedy. Espresso was helpful and professional, even found another suitable apartment when I missed my first choice. Would be happy to stay again and will certainly look at other properties in the group when requiring holiday accomodation.

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 70% Fri 11 Aug 2017

  • Cleanliness
    7
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    6

Overall rating 100% Fri 4 Aug 2017

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 88% Sun 9 Jul 2017

Great location, best area we have stayed in st kilda in regard to convenience to eating places and shopping. Heating is great.

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 83% Thu 8 Jun 2017

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 83% Tue 25 Apr 2017

The apartment is very pleasant to stay in and the facilities and size of the apartment is very good. It is a hot apartment and we have needed to open windows and doors for circulation. Overall a fun and pleasant place to stay.

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 83% Sun 10 Apr 2016

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 90% Sun 28 Feb 2016

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    9

Overall rating 80% Fri 29 Jan 2016

Great location and space. Nicely decorated.

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    7
  • Bed comfort
    6

Overall rating 80% Wed 16 Dec 2015

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    6

Overall rating 100% Tue 10 Nov 2015

Great experience

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 80% Sat 31 Oct 2015

Thank you

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 75% Mon 14 Sep 2015

I did phone to tell someone about the light and heater in the Master and said someone would be around on Monday. Heard nothing and saw nobody. That's why there is a low service score. Often very difficult to get through to anyone on the phone.

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    6
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 78% Fri 21 Aug 2015

A great place to stay, will be back.

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 80% Wed 24 Jun 2015

Great location

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 93% Tue 23 Jun 2015

Great location and size of apartment was great for the 6 of us. Easy access into St Kilda and City

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 88% Wed 27 May 2015

Great service! Great stay!

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    5

Overall rating 75% Sun 24 May 2015

Overall a super location, your staff was super friendly and helpful at all times and the apartment fitted all our needs.

  • Cleanliness
    7
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 93% Sat 9 May 2015

We love the dishwasher and washing machine and dryer We love our apartment and would stay again. We will recommend It to our friends and put it on Facebook Thank you. Much nicer than staying in a hotel.

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    9

Overall rating 90% Mon 20 Apr 2015

Loved it!

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    9

Overall rating 85% Mon 2 Mar 2015

Another fantastic time was had, extremely comfortable and living areas a great size especially for 6 adults. This was our second visit and we will be back again. Jo

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    6

Overall rating 78% Sun 4 Jan 2015

We had arranged early check in but it still took us half an hour to get into the apartment because this hadn't been communicated to the cleaners. The after hours number took a while (not sure how long as I wasn't here, but I think my friends mentioned an hr). It should be easy to get into the accommodation on arrival, especially after a flight and taxi ride here you don't want to be standing on the side of the road with your luggage.

  • Cleanliness
    7
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 80% Mon 17 Nov 2014

It is a great location, and the apartment was generally really great !!

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 90% Wed 8 Oct 2014

Thank you for a great stay! This is all positive feedback and just letting you know things to improve to continue getting great ratings from your customers!

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 80% Wed 24 Sep 2014

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    6

Overall rating 98% Sat 20 Sep 2014

Very attentive staff who assisted us wherever possible.

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 80% Fri 5 Sep 2014

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 78% Tue 22 Jul 2014

Location is great.

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    3

Overall rating 73% Fri 23 May 2014

The rubbish bins at the carpark is so full that we had problem disposing off our rubbish. We need to keep searching or try to put it to less filled up bins.

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    6
  • Service
    7
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 78% Mon 21 Apr 2014

Was a little disappointed that the additional beds we had pre-ordered were not in the apartment when we arrived, and when I called about it, it was going to take up to 2 hours to get them to us and as we were going out it was not ideal. The location of the apartment was amazing and the helpfulness of the staff at Espresso when I needed to change our original booking was brilliant. I will use Espresso again in Melbourne and later in the year when we have to travel to Sydney for our daughters graduation.

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    5

Overall rating 75% Sun 16 Mar 2014

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    6
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 88% Tue 10 Dec 2013

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 50% Thu 21 Nov 2013

location is great, building is great. Not being able to partly open windows was stuffy.

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    5
  • Service
    3
  • Bed comfort
    4

Overall rating 100% Tue 1 Oct 2013

Great, great job. The whole group is delighted!

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 90% Sun 18 Aug 2013

The unit was very nice, but considering the things that were broken, as well as the building noise, it was a little disappointing. I think the location is great, but some improvements need to be made.

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 90% Mon 8 Jul 2013

We had some problems with the code in the lift

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    9

Overall rating 70% Tue 18 Jun 2013

Generally a high quality apartment in a good location.

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    6
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    6

Overall rating 83% Sun 9 Jun 2013

The lift is terrible perhaps in need of a good service The internet booking system did not work and had to book over the phone Not an issue except it took many attempts to book and then I had to ring to pay the balance not that it was a problem but I understood that espresso apartments were to contact me Other than that a great location and great apartment Many thanks

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    5

Overall rating 75% Wed 29 May 2013

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    6
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 98% Sun 5 May 2013

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 85% Wed 27 Feb 2013

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    9

Overall rating 100% Mon 10 Dec 2012

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 78% Thu 15 Nov 2012

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    8
  • Bed comfort
    4

Overall rating 100% Thu 27 Sep 2012

I will be booking with you again for a short holiday in January 2013.

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 73% Mon 13 Aug 2012

We loved it - the stay was wonderful

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    7
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 78% Tue 3 Jul 2012

Also we were told on our instructions that keysafe code was last "three digits" when it is actually "four" digits. Maybe offer an sms service to remind guest of codes before arrival. Make your instructions on getting into the building clearer ... example below. Address 39/220 Barkly St, St Kilda on Friday 29th June 2012 are as follows. Check-in Anytime after 2pm. How to get in the building - watch this video http://www.espressoapartments.com.au/keys 1. Enter the small entrance foyer where you will find the letterbox to apartment No. 39 2. Inside the letterbox 39 you will find a key safe 3. The code to the key safe will be the last three (actually four) digits of the number in the middle of your booking reference (B39-11589-Drew) 4. Once you have your keys, please proceed to the lift 5. Once inside the lift, press ‘59897’ 6. Entering that code will cause the lift to take you directly to the penthouse level where you will find apartment No. 39 7. Inside the apartment you will find a second set of keys to the apartment If you have any difficulties at all, please do not hesitate to telephone us on 9005 4633 or 90054634 (after hours - until 10pm only).

  • Cleanliness
    7
  • Value
    7
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    8

Overall rating 100% Fri 15 Jun 2012

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 85% Mon 11 Jun 2012

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    9
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 88% Thu 26 Apr 2012

Enjoyed stay - great apartment & location (This was apartment 39)

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    7

Overall rating 100% Fri 13 Apr 2012

Thank you

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10
  • Bed comfort
    10

Overall rating 90% Mon 20 Feb 2012

Overall an enjoyable experience, from commencement of the booking, through to completing this feedback form.

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    9

Overall rating 100% Wed 8 Feb 2012

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10

Overall rating 87% Mon 30 Jan 2012

A good stay overall

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    9

Overall rating 80% Thu 25 Aug 2011

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    8

Overall rating 87% Tue 23 Aug 2011

THe list of resturants and other details in teh information booklet was very helpful, maybe a little map of melbourne for use clueless girls would have been helpful, but we worked our way around. Thanks you for upgrading us to the Penthouse - we thought we were very special and loved every minute of it, When we return again next year we will be sure to look you up.

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    10

Overall rating 67% Mon 15 Aug 2011

Please dont take this as someone who wants to whinge. I hope this is taken as constructive and some maintenance is undertaken plus some blinds are put in the second bedroom. We would after all like to stay in the apartments again one day and also like to recommend them to others with confidence. Thanks.

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    5
  • Service
    7

Overall rating 43% Sun 7 Aug 2011

We only get away together once a year. Like you, we all work hard and enjoy a good break. I was really dissapointed and annoyed that at every turn, something went wrong or broke or did not work! My 4 sisters and I value our 3 nights away annually and as it was my turn to orginise I wanted it to be as great as it seemed in writng! Having to call in 3 times (and then not bothering after that) was very upsetting not only for us but for you who had to take the calls. (not that I was ever aggresive - more apoligetic??!) We did not get our value for money in this apartment. We booked it for the location, bath and 4.5 stars. We were unable to use the bath and it is certainlhy not a 4.5 star rating. The coffee machine was terrific but the milk frother overflowed even when we only filled below the max line and it was dirty to start with. You also need to Send Information out to the client on how to get into the carport. The remote was not in the mail box so we spent half an hour looking for some way to get into the carport! Then we could not get past the 4th floor as no code to get to the 5th floor was given out either so we got out at 4 with our luggage and went up the stairs!! It was not a great way to start our stay. I would have NOT booked this place if I knew how it really looked compared to the website. We were helped into the building by a tenant and eventually past the 4th floor by another tenant and then we had to help another family in the next day. Convenience luxury and cleanliness should be expected for this rating and the price. Michael from customer service was easy to chat to and a nice point of contact.

  • Cleanliness
    4
  • Value
    4
  • Service
    5

Overall rating 100% Tue 5 Jul 2011

Will let you know how we find Herbert street when we move there.

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10

Overall rating 100% Wed 29 Jun 2011

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    10
  • Service
    10

Overall rating 80% Sun 26 Jun 2011

The staff I spoke to during the process of booking the apartment were extremely helpful and very polite. The only disappointment was that we requested a cot and for the two single beds to be joined together for the three couples we had staying at the apartment. When we arrived, the cot had no bedding and the two single beds werent pushed together. But a quick phone call to the friendly staff fixed that as they had a cleaner come around to the apartment to fix the issues very quickly. It would be great if there was proper bedding for the cot. Thank you for having us. We ver much enjoyed our stay and I will look at your website again when friends and family come to Melbourne to visit. Thanks again, Lauren Slattery

  • Cleanliness
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    6

Overall rating 90% Fri 3 Jun 2011

  • Cleanliness
    10
  • Value
    9
  • Service
    8

Overall rating 53% Tue 3 May 2011

great apartment will book again next year...

  • Cleanliness
    8
  • Value
    8
  • Service
    0